My Top Two Travel Inspired Book Recommendations

“Reading is essential for those who seek to rise above the ordinary.” — Jim Rohn

I’ve always been a voracious reader, and my love of travel has grown just as much over the years. Not sorry to say that I have an unpopular opinion when it comes to certain travel books: I thought Eat, Pray, Love was mediocre. That’s not my type of travel book. Adventure is more my style with humor and something that sparks a genuine love of travel itself.

There are very few travel-inspired books that I’ve come across that make me want never to put the book down, read it again and again, and ignites an itch to travel to somewhere new and have an adventure of my own. Lots of my recent posts have been super long so enjoy a shorter one with just two of my absolute favorite travel books.


Whatever You Do, Don’t Run. True Stories of a Botswana Safari Guide by Peter Allison

891224(I don’t own either of the photos of the book covers. Thanks Google.)

The book is a series of short stories ranging from almost-wet-yourself funny to oh my goodness will they actually die before the book is over? Peter Allison is a natural storyteller and safari guide. He fell in love with the job and country and decided to share some of his stories. If you want not only a laugh but a better appreciation for wildlife, conservation, and a country to which most of the world has never traveled get this book. It’s incredible.


The Accidental Adventurer: My Wilderness Years by Ben Fogle

12614970._UY400_SS400_

I read this several years ago and many times since. It was a book I bought on a whim in an airport, and I ended up reading it in one sitting. Much to the dismay of my parents, reading it resulted in me wanting to try some crazy adventures like going to the South Pole, rowing across the Atlantic Ocean, and running across the Sahara Desert. Ben Fogle did all of those things and so much more. There’s a level of charm in his writing that keeps you wanting more, as if the stories alone hadn’t already done that. The book takes you on each of his incredible journeys all over the world. If this doesn’t inspire you to step out the front door and go somewhere new, there might be no hope left for you.

Have you read either of these books? If you know of any other stories like these, I would love to hear your suggestions! I’m always on the lookout for more books, especially about travel. 

Leave a comment